Mach #75 – PAX East 2010 – Day 1 – Bitches don’t know about my swag~

So in Boston for PAX. And I could actually say, I’m loving this whole convention. From all the anime conventions I’ve attended in the past, going to a legit gaming convention is definitely a nice change of pace. Cosplay is a little lacking, but I personally don’t even care about that. Although, the only thing that I’m really hating is how some gamers really live up to that sterotype. Fat, awkward looking, anti-social.

Ugh.

So what did I do today? The convention wasn’t starting until 2 PM, so what do I do? Wake up at 10 AM and get in line for the keynote speaker, who just so happened to be Wil Wheaton. What’s worse? Keynote was at 3 PM. So the fun  After listening to his moving speech, there’s two things I realized:

1. Most of my friends who really mean anything to me in my life, I’ve met through gaming.
2. I gotta play Dragon Age: Origins.

Otherwise, fun~ Great fun. The Exhibit Hall here at PAX is extremely impressive. To start off, I met up with a friend of mine who actually managed to go and get his own booth amongst these juggernaut major developers. He has his own little gaming company called yyr games. Definitely worth checking out. He has a couple of games on the Indie Section of XBOX Live.

So out of support for him making some fun indie games, he ran a tournament on his game, Snake 360. A great multiplayer game. I lost in the first round without ever sealing a single win. :sadface:

But afterwards, went around to buy some things. Here’s what I got:

Day One of Stuff

So it was a pretty nice haul. Let’s break down what I got:

Pokemon Bag – It was free from the Nintendo booth. Speaking of which, a crap load of people who actually had Pokewalkers were around. I suppose it’s expected at a gaming convention. Final step count for the day? 13,256 steps.

Turbine Shirt – [ link ] It was free, I’m not complaining~

DDRLS – Free pin. Means Dance Dance Restless Leg Syndrome. One of the divisions part of the PAX Pox game one of the booths offer.

One of the things I’m happy about purchasing:

Aww... Yeah~

PSI Rockin – Fangamer had a booth in the Exhibition Hall. They have AWESOME shirt designs as well. I couldn’t resist not buying some Earthbound stuff while I was there. What makes me happier? They’re selling their Mother 3 guide there as well. SO tempted to buy it. There’s a couple of things I want from there as well.

I’m rather impressed with this convention so far. Maybe it’s the random happy gamer virgin in me getting his gaming convention cherry popped, but I’ll definitely consider going to this again next year. Considering it doesn’t cost too much to get up to Boston, it’s a great convention if you live in the New York/New Jersey area.

I’ll have Day Two up by tomorrow as well, so stay on the look out for that as well. Will likely get a lot more stuff tomorrow.

Until then, later~

4 Responses to “Mach #75 – PAX East 2010 – Day 1 – Bitches don’t know about my swag~”

  1. worlddude Says:

    “Fat, awkward looking, anti-social.”

    Hey, that’s me!

    But it sounds like a fun time. Someday I will attend PAX…someday.

  2. I wish I could go to PAX. Like Wude says though… Someday…

  3. That sounds great. I guess I’ll be reviewing Anime Boston next week!

  4. I would go, if it wasn’t for the fact that I’m in Japan right now.

Leave a Reply

